Interview Slay: How to Dominate Your Next Interview – Part III

3

Today’s lesson is all about building rapport with your interviewer.

Interviews can be fun.

Yea, that’s right – I said it! And this is something I truly believe and have experienced first hand.

There are definitely elements of interviews that can be nerve wrecking. I mean, the entire time is spent with you being judged by recruiters, hiring managers and employees, but there is a way to ease the stress a little and that’s by building a genuine relationship with the person that’s interviewing you.

Now, you may be thinking – build a relationship? How?

The easiest and quickest way is by finding common ground. Yesterday I spoke about one of the research points to prepare for any interview should be intel on the person/people who will be doing the interviews. This is where you can find things that can be used to establish rapport.

I’ve been in interviews before with people who graduated from the same college as me, worked at the same company  I’ve worked for and even knew some of the same people I knew. I used this information to my advantage, by incorporating it into the flow of the conversation.

Nothing says ‘relationship building’ like discussing similarities or areas of common ground.

That’s all for today! Stay tuned for lesson #4 which will be posted tomorrow. We will get into the meat and potatoes of an interview – the Q&A portion!

Have any questions, leave them in the comments below or email me!

-Dorianne

P.S. If you don’t want to wait for the lesson to be posted each day, you can always click here and get the full list of my interview secrets right now!

One thought on “Interview Slay: How to Dominate Your Next Interview – Part III

Leave a Reply

